It’s that time of the year again!

This year has been full with ups and downs on a personal level but also in the music world.. So many great albums have been released but we also lost many legends not only in the music world but also in the entertainment business in general… So I am sure this year will be unforgettable for many of us.

As a music journalist, this year has been full with interviews, live reports and awesome concerts as well as album releases for me. Some albums did not really captivate me as much whereas some albums still make me shiver! It was quite hard to choose my favorite top 10 records but I somehow managed to narrow it down to Top 10. So here it comes! (psst, there is also a surprise at the end :D)

#10  BLOODY HAMMERS – LOVELY SORT OF DEATH

Bloody Hammers - Lovely Sort of Death.jpg

# 9   The 69 EYES – UNIVERSAL MONSTERS

69eyes-universal-monsters

#8    FINSTERFORST – #YØLØ

download

#7   SKUGGSJA – A PIECE FOR MIND & MIRROR

cover

#6  ULVER – ATGCLVLSSCAP

cover

#5  URFAUST – EMPTY SPACE MEDITATION

urfaust-cover

#4  KATATONIA – THE FALL OF HEARTS

katatonia-fall-of-hearts-medium-res-cover

#3  WARDRUNA – RUNALJOD – RAGNARÖK

download-1

 #2 MOONSORROW – JUMALTEN AIKA

cover

#1  TREES OF ETERNITY – HOUR OF THE NIGHTINGALE

trees-of-eternity-cover

So this is my top 10 of this year… That’s not it though!

This year I decided to do something else and list a few releases that surprised me the most… I will name just a few! 😀 You can think of it as projects/bands that hold potential and that you need to keep an eye on 😉 !

IRIJ  – CULTURA CURA

CoverArtCulturaCura

TID – Fix Idé 

tid-fix-ide

MALLEVS MALEFICARVM – HOMO HOMINI LUPUS

cover

FIRTAN – INNENWELT

download-2

KHEPRA – COSMOLOGY DIVINE

cover

 

So that’s it folks! What are your favorites of this year? Let me know! I wish everyone a Happy New Year. I hope 2017 will be less apocalyptic although I doubt it… Let the power of music soothe our soul! Stay metal!

