Band: Craving
EP: Wielder of Storms
Release Date: 19.02.2016
Record Label: Self-released
Genre: Death/folk metal

 Craving - Wielder of Storms (2016)

Craving is a melodic death metal band from Germany. Founded as Erebos in 2005, the band went through several line-up changes and played over 50 live gigs in Germany and several other countries. The band’s sound is a mixture of folk/death metal with some black metal influences; their inspiration comes from history and nature as well as movies and novels. They have recently released the long-awaited EP “Wielder of Storms” and currently on tour with Wolves Den in Germany!Since I liked their previous release “At Dawn” a lot, I had to review this EP as soon as I got the promo. This time I was also curious about how the band’s sound and character developed… Read on!

At first listen, the first song got me quite confused as I did not expect less of the nice Craving sound and more ‘influences from the big names’. As a matter of fact, as a good friend of mine played the song on his radio show “Thrash ‘till Death”, he stated that the vocals sound a lot like Blind Guardian and I agree. I also sensed a lot of old-Ensiferum vibe so I became a bit skeptical. However my opinion changed as I listened to the rest of the EP…

So you know what they say; don’t judge a book by its cover… or from the first song: D If we actually skip the first song “Wielder of Storms”, I liked the EP a lot! On one hand, we have this good old Craving sound; on the other hand, the band experimented with a few styles such as pagan/black/folk metal. The EP is harsher this time and the band also had a mixture of clean and harsh vocals as always. So overall, the record is quite successful minus the first song… For those of you wondering about the clean vocals, check out “Storm I – Torn Apart”.  Another highlight is definitely, the overall energy and confidence in these 3 songs.

One thing is for sure; Craving has delivered a good melodic death metal album with influences from pagan/black/folk and even power metal if we consider the first song. This album could have been 10/10 if they hadn’t included “Wielder of Storms” as I think that it disturbs the overall atmosphere, but the rest is really dynamic and will satisfy the pagan metal lovers for sure!

Rating: 8/10

Tracklist:

1. Wielder of Storms
2. Storm I – Torn Apart
3. Storm II – Amongst The Stars
4. Wenn der Wind sich dreht

More info:
Craving Facebook
Craving Official

