Band : Katatonia

Album : Dethroned & Uncrowned

Genre : Doom/Dark Metal

Release Date : 09.09.2013

Record Label : Peaceville Records

I gotta admit that my love for Katatonia has been quite recent; I got to discover these Swedish progressive/doom metallers with the release of their latest successful album “Dead End Kings” (released on August 2012). Ever since, I cannot stop listening to this band. Surely, the band has been through major changes through the years and “Dead End Kings” is another proof that despite of this change; Katatonia is still one of those bands that managed to give the fans what they need.

There is a reason why I mentioned and praised “Dead End Kings” so much. The Swedish metallers released another album “Dethroned & Uncrowned” this month . This album is unique but not unique at the same time; so, think about all the songs in “Dead End Kings”, take out all those e-guitars and drums and put acoustic guitars, more synths and you have “Dethroned & Uncrowned”; the twin of “Dead End Kings”.

The band started a Pledge campaign for this album months ago and it was quite obvious that the fans had been craving for an album like this; the album reached its goal in a very short time and I can really understand why. Even before listening to the album, I was sure that this record was going to be quite special and really Katatonia-like, which means surprising,depressive and doomy in an acoustic way!

As I said before, the lovers of “Dead End Kings” will love this album. It’s really so amazing that even though the album is really slow and maybe even more emotional, it is somehow still dynamic.  With this album, the listener will focus more on the vocals and the ‘emotional side’ of the album rather than the ‘metal’ atmosphere that existed in “Dead End Kings”.

While listening to the album, I got the feeling that I was sitting in a café/lounge by myself, sipping my wine and listening to the songs live. Somehow, I think that this would be a much better ‘live’ album than “Dead End Kings”; it has that ‘live’ atmosphere that will just make the listeners or the audience want to close their eyes and get lost away in the emotions and in their own memories.

It is really hard to choose favorite tracks from this album. Although the songs are the same songs, somehow they are not the same. My favorite track in “Dead End Kings” is “Ambitions” but in this record, my favorites are “Lethean” and “The Racing Heart”. Nevertheless, all songs have that different taste compared to “Dead End Kings”.

If “Dead End Kings” is the person itself, then “Dethroned & Uncrowned” is the character and the inner soul of him and  I think that Katatonia has managed to create this duality within both albums very well without repeating themselves. This album definitely shows that the band knows no boundaries.

Rating : 10/10


01. The Parting
02. The One You Are Looking For Is Not Here
03. Hypnone
04. The Racing Heart
05. Buildings
06. Leech
07. Ambitions
08. Undo You
09. Lethean
10. First Prayer
11. Dead Letters


Jonas Renkse – Vocals
Anders Nyström – Guitar
Daniel Liljekvist – Drums
Per Eriksson – Guitar (live)
Niklas Sandin – Bass (live)